About | Contact | SUBMIT PRESS | Advertise | FAQ
Newsletters | Twitter |
HomeNewsArticlesExpertsDataJobsEDULBSEVENTSDIRBLOGSocialGeoJobs
Software | Webmaps | Submit Press | Utilities | Geo BIZ | iOS | Social Media | LBS | Webinars | LiDAR | Cloud  
advertisement

Top Geo News
Put Your News here! 
 

SEARCHING FOR a JOB?
GEOJOBS.biz

Rapidly Making Colorful Landsat-8 Imagery Composite with Free Advanced Image Stretching and Pan-sharpening Software from GeoSage - See more at: http://www.gisuser.com/content/view/30197/2/#sthash.36sxzlnJ.dpuf

Got news? TELL US...
submit press to GISuser

Social Connect




@GISuser

GISuser Sponsor


GISuser Videos


See also SpatialVideos Youtube

Recent Site Additions
GISuser Sponsor

GIS Job Opportunities
 

More at GeoJobs.BIZ!

GISuser Sponsor


Home arrow News arrow Earth Imagery arrow NASA To Chronicle Close Earth Flyby Of Asteroid     

HOT JOB
post a GIS job * JOBS *  Mapper - Surveyor Contract / Geodesign Manager, Redlands
See more jobs on GeoJobs.Biz
Submit News/tips to press @gisuser.com
NASA To Chronicle Close Earth Flyby Of Asteroid E-mail
Written by NASA   
16 February 2013

PASADENA, Calif., Feb. 13, 2013-- NASA Television will provide commentary starting at 2 p.m. EST (11 a.m. PST) on Friday, Feb. 15, during the close, but safe, flyby of a small near-Earth asteroid named 2012 DA14.  NASA places a high priority on tracking asteroids and protecting our home planet from them. This flyby will provide a unique opportunity for researchers to study a near-Earth object up close.

The half-hour broadcast from NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) in Pasadena, Calif., will incorporate real-time animation to show the location of the asteroid in relation to Earth, along with live or near real-time views of the asteroid from observatories in Australia, weather permitting.

At the time of its closest approach to Earth at approximately 2:25 p.m. EST (11:25 a.m. PST/ 19:25 UTC), the asteroid will be about 17,150 miles (27,600 kilometers) above Earth's surface.

The commentary will be available via NASA TV and streamed live online at:

http://www.nasa.gov/ntv

and

http://www.ustream.tv/nasajpl2

In addition to the commentary, near real-time imagery of the asteroid's flyby before and after closest approach, made available to NASA by astronomers in Australia and Europe, weather permitting, will be streamed beginning at about noon EST (9 a.m. PST) and continuing through the afternoon at the following website:

http://www.ustream.tv/nasajpl2

A Ustream feed of the flyby from a telescope at NASA's Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, Ala., will be streamed for three hours starting at 9 p.m. EST (8 p.m. CST). To view the feed and ask researchers questions about the flyby via Twitter, visit:

http://www.ustream.tv/channel/nasa-msfc

The NASA Near Earth Objects (NEO) Program at the agency's headquarters in Washington, manages and funds the search, study, and monitoring of NEOs, or asteroids and comets, whose orbits periodically bring them close to the Earth. NASA's study of NEOs provides important clues to understanding the origin of our solar system. The objects also are a repository of natural resources and could become waystations for future exploration.  In collaboration with other external organizations, one of the program's key goals is to search and hopefully mitigate potential NEO impacts on Earth. JPL conducts the NEO program's technical and scientific activities.

For more information, including graphics and animations showing the flyby of 2012 DA14, visit:

www.nasa.gov/asteroidflyby

For more information about asteroids and near-Earth objects, visit:

http://www.jpl.nasa.gov/asteroidwatch

SOURCE NASA

 

 
< Prev   Next >

Submit Your GIS/Geo News/PR

blog comments powered by Disqus
Geo EDU Tip
To GISP or Not? What Does It Mean To You? 
HOT Devices
Video - Trimble Positions and the Geo Explorer 6000 XH
Social Media Tips
10 Map Services Your Business MUST Be Listed in
 
Featured Events
  • Geoint Symposium 2014 - The GEOINT 2013* Symposium takes place April 14-17, 2014 at the Tampa Convention Center in Tampa, Florida.
  • FOSS4G 2014 - Put on by OSGeo, FOSS4G is the international gathering of open source and geospatial tribes. Join us in Portland, Oregon, USA, Sept 8th-12th
  • LiDAR users and potential users take not of a webinar titled Making Money with the Speed of Light covering such topics as Basic growth strategies for 3D imaging business success
  • State of the Map US - April 12-13, Washington DC

 List Your Event Here 

THE GISuser Newsletter

See Recent edition
newsletter

subscribe GISuser

We won't share your address!
Sponsor

Popular Stuff!


GISuser Site Sponsor


GISuser HOT Spots!

android tools

Android Dev Tips

Partner Sites

lidar news
lbszone.com

amerisurv

symbianone

geojobs Geo jobs

A Spatial Media LLC property




Spatial Media, LLC ©2003 - 2013 All rights reserved / Privacy Statement